Ross / Bridge Plaque

Previous Home Next

Bridge Plaque

Historic Engineering Marker
Ross Bridge

This bridge on the former Hobart to Launceston Road was
designed by civil engineer and colonial architect John Lee
Archer. The was constructed by two convict
stonemasons, Daniel Herbert and James Colbeck, with a gang
of convict labour under the direction of Captain William Turner,
Commandant of Ross. Herbert created the unique
ornamentation of the arches. Both stonemasons were
emancipated on completion of the bridge which was officially
opened by Lt Governor Arthur on 21 October 1836

The Institution of Engineers, Australia 2003

Last Updated: 21-May-2005 22:29
© Copyright      Enquiries by e-mail